Daniel Radel, instructor, journalist
Discover Red Bank's history on this walking tour of the vibrant downtown nestled against the banks of the Navesink River. Tour will include the Red Bank railroad station, one of the last remaining examples of the Stick Style station houses built by the New York and Long Branch Railroad in the1870s. The Count Basie Theater, opened on November 11, 1926 as a vaudeville theater and cinema and named after Jazz legend and Red Bank native William James "Count” Basie. The Lollipop Clock, built by a Swiss clock inspector and jeweler in 1902, and the Second Empire style architecture of the Dublin House. Participants should make sure to wear comfortable walking shoes and be prepared to walk at least two miles. Meeting place in in front of The Dublin House: 30 Monmouth Street, Red Bank. Rain Date Saturday, August 12th. Please note: no refund will be given if rain date is used.